Seeking Solace: Finding Peace and Comfort in Times of Distress
paperback

by ノric L Farrell (Author), Will Holmes Jr. (Author)





Editorial Review




Everyone has moments when their soul hurts so much you want to amputate your heart, or worse, you are dead inside. It's to those moments that this book speaks. Many of the poems were inspired by September 11, others by the daily pain of life. No matter what the situation, the answer is the same, trust God. Find solace in His love expressed through others. Reading these poems won't fix anything, but you will at least know you are not alone.

Amanda Killgore, Book Reviewer
Huntress Reviews
(Houston, TX)




Reader Reviews




  1. "This really has the ring of truth. I know of someone who needs this."

    Emily Ware, librarian
    Luther Memorial School Library
    (Richmond, VA)


  2. A reviewer, a reviewer,
    Seek and Find
    January 6, 2004

    "I don't read a lot of books, but this one caught my attention. This book is not just a book of poetry, but also contains a section of writing to go along with the poems. So, if you don't enjoy poetry, you can just read the 'behind the poems' section which gives greater depth and meaning, as well as the author's inspirations for their poems. This book truly soothes the spirit and mind. Whether you are going through a lot or just need a little inspiration for a small situation, this book is the answer. It gives such in depth wisdom, advice, comfort, and guidance on everyday situations as well as the hardest of life's experiences. This is definitely a must read. Farrell and Holmes seem to truly be inspired by God in their writing. What you'll find in this book, is a path to mental and spiritual healing and strength, as well as guidance for how to maintain your sanity and faith for whatever life may bring your way. It also teaches you how to maintain a connection with God through this journey of life. What's best about it to me is that the writing and poems are not 'too deep' to the point you can't understand or catch the author's message. They WANT you to understand and get the message, so the writing is very direct and easy to understand. Loved it!"

    Review by "A Reviewer"


  3. "... truly a blessing. God must have had you send this to me right on time. I just finished crying about some deeply personal issues. And you are right, even poetry is 'Not Like A Prayer.' Praise God!!!"

    Tyesha Rice, student
    Columbia Theological Seminary

    (Decatur, GA)


  4. "Oftentimes when I go through a situation, your poems enlighten me. I thank God for inspiring and using you to write because through your poetry, lives are touched."

    Sherry Harper, reader of E&W Collaborations
    (Virginia Beach, VA)


  5. "The writings in this book are more than poetry. They are words to inspire the soul, lift the spirit, and recognize who we are and whom's we are. You will find yourself in solace when you live these words. Eric and Will will inspire you to become who God has declared you to be."

    Pastor Ron Jones
    Agape Fellowship
    (Gricignano, Italy)


  6. "... my personal favorites... are 'Mr. Suicide Bomber...' and 'I'm Maintaining...' - Will and Eric definitely step up to the challenge of bringing light in the darkness, and hope in the midst of hopeless situations. It is truly a work of inspiration at a time when the world is desperate for healing."

    Sonstar Carlisle Peterson, author of The Destiny of the Black Race
    apostle & founder of Nation Within A Nation Enterprises


  7. "This work is an anointed blend of calling and passion, resulting in a spiritual masterpiece that encourages believers and inspires the lost."

    Womanstorm, spoken word artist & host
    (Durham, NC)


  8. "Eric & Will have captured a unique flavor of God's essence and have wrapped it into words of inspiration that cause provoking thoughts of inner peace. 'Blessed Assurance' is a short, simple yet assuring word of comfort crafted in such a way that even the young may take comfort in."

    Levonzia Stevens, Sr., author & senior pastor
    Hope Aglow Christian Center
    (Woodbridge, VA)


  9. This book is an awesome ministry tool! The authors speak to so many people's situations and problems; I can see why this is titled "...Solace." It's like a contemporary companion to the Word of God, and it's great the way they ground their poetry in the Word by providing scripture. Even the Introductions to each section of poetry provide great insight and pull us into their world of poetry.

    Derome Scott Smith, director
    Living Word Stage Company
    (Richmond, VA)


  10. "Seeking Solace contains vivid and colorful language that expresses truth and embraces the everyday experience. It is a testimony to us all--white, black, male, female, young, and old. The prophecies speak directly to your soul and nurture your well-being, like only true poetry can.
    Seeking Solace captures the struggle of the human condition and in man's relationship with God--the fight as well as the yield--while offering spiritual solutions to spiritual ailments. The authors teach us as well as lead us. "Going Through," "The Tale of Many Men," "Sometimes We Fall," "It Shall Come to Pass," "Genocide," and "Experience" have been birthed from deep introspection so that the verses don't preach--they share the process by which one acquires wisdom and understanding.
    Seeking Solace is a collection of encouraging words to guide your spirit through uncertainties and valley situations. Farrell and Holmes are two authors with one poetic voice with a seamless writing style. The authors' words have been revealed to us by God Himself."

    Aisha R. Brantley, poet & author of The Anointed Right Hand
    (Baltimore, MD)


  11. "Éric & Will have masterfully combined their poetic gifts to present a spiritual tool; created to enlighten, encourage, and empower all who need solace in their lives. A job well done!"

    Elder Joe Howard, president & CEO
    Strategic Solutions
    (Woodbridge, VA)


  12. "Seeking Solace contains bottom-line points on everyday life, packed with purpose and explorations of thoughts."

    SurAyah, poet and author of Memoirs on Love and Life
    (Washington, DC)


  13. "Wow, I really love this poem ('Not Like A Prayer'). It says so much about the true purpose of prayer and is very clearly written for under- standing."

    Tracee Jackson,
    Heart Tones Inspirational Company
    (Dallas, TX)


  14. Review by:
    Ruthology, Artist. Student. Woman.
    , December 18, 2003
    Seeking Solace...

    "In a society that is bombarded with violent, sexual and outright perverse imagery, projected through the powerful mediums such as television, radio, internet and literature, the slogan 'do what feels good as long as it doesn't directly hurt someone,' seems to be the norm. Today we see this same society on wearisome missions such as 'the cure for A.I.D.S', ' eliminating poverty', 'how to nail a mate' and the list goes on. The sad thing is that these missions do not address the root of the problems at hand: sin. Rather than our youth being mentored and told that if you sleep around there are physical, emotional and spiritual consequences, they are given pieces of rubber gloves and misinformation that condoms can 'protect' them and their partner(s). Seeking Solace is definitely going to offer a fresh and challenging voice that truly keeps things 'real' in a world that supports fakes rapping, singing and/or writing about 'keepin' it real' -but are only out to make a dollar and are not true to themselves, their fans or the art. The authors, Farrell and Holmes, are definitely on to something. Most importantly, the Lord God is their source, meaning that He is embedded in this beautiful gift that offers hope, encouragement and truth for those 'Seeking Solace.'" (this is a duplicate from different website)

    Ruth A Smith "Ruthology", student & CKUW 95.9 FM radio personality
    University of Winnipeg
    (Manitoba, Canada)



  15. (5 STARS)
    Poems of Encouragement
    May 23, 2005
    Reviewer:
    Mignon R. Spencer "Poet and Author"
    (Atlanta, GA)

    Seeking solace is book of encouragement. It's authors Will and Eric are extremely gifted writers. Young readers will be enlightened, encouraged and inspired by these writings. Some great stories and heartfelt poetry.


  16. (5 STARS)
    A MUST HAVE!!!!!
    March 23, 2005
    Reviewer:
    mskeiad
    (Virginia, USA)

    SEEKING SOLACE IS A SPECTACULAR BOOK!! I purchased this book from the bookstore on campus and immediately I started reading it. Seeking Solace is such an inspirational book to have. It has truly inspired me. Within the same day of me buying this book, I had purchased another copy as a gift. I find myself relating to SS more than any other book that I have read prior to this one. I am blessed to have SS in my collection. Eric L. Farrell and Will Holmes, Jr. really outdid themselves with this one. I am truly looking forward to the next one.


  17. (5 STARS)
    Very Inspirational
    January 14, 2005
    Reviewer:
    Msjrene "jamie"

    When I first received this book at Virginia State, I did not read it until 2 months later,and it really moved my spirit. It is a blessing to see and hear a African American man, preaching and teaching the wonders of God. This book is great for self and even better a a gift.


  18. (5 STARS)
    5 STARS....An Everyday Tool!!!
    December 9, 2004
    Reviewer:
    Maria Jackson "Maria"
    (Richmond, VA)

    Seeking Solace is a timely book in a world where uncertainty and confusion is present in abundance. The heart-felt words of Farrell and Holmes will leave your spirit in a peaceful state. Seeking Solace will help one deal with right-now issues using the Word of God to convict and heal your inner self. Every poem in Seeking Solace will move you in various ways. I applaud Eric L. Farrell and Will Holmes for sharing their trials and tribulations to the world with the faith of our souls being healed. Mission Accomplished!!!


  19. (5 STARS)
    helping me to go on.....
    December 9, 2004
    Reviewer:
    Natasha R. Ellis
    (Virginia)

    my father just passed away and in my hour of darkness, i picked up this book.its helping me to day after day and it gives me my daily inspiration. if you don't have this book you need to get it . it is a must have!!! makes a worderful christmas gift! enjoy !!!


  20. (4 STARS)
    view from a casual poetry fan
    November 29, 2004
    Reviewer:
    Richard Ronca
    (Philadelphia, PA)

    I had purchased the book at a Barnes and Noble store on campus during one of the author's book signings. I had been going through a difficult time as everyone has at some point and thought it would be an interesting read. I am not a particularly strong christian but I always enjoy seeing things from different perspectives. In fact, you probably don't need to be a christian, nor do you even have to be a particularly big poetry fan to appreciate the powerful poems contained within the book. The author does not lament his own suffereng as suggested by other reviewers, but rather shares his own personal experiences in demonstrating how he has been able to deal with them. There is not a single person that can't learn something from this book. My personal favorite is "Fear Less." Highly Recomended.


  21. (5 STARS)
    A MUST READ!!!! Seeking Solace: Finding Peace and Comfort in Times of Distress
    01/18/2005
    Gisha Roberts, someone who love to read
    (Woodbridge, VA)

    Seeking Solace: Finding Peace and Comfort in Times of Distress by Eric Farrell and Will Holmes, Jr. is a must read! These two gentlemen have colloborated together to give the reader a positive and inspirational message. I finished this book feeling renewed, empowered and full of hope. If you are in need of that spiritual lift or if you or someone you know are need comforting words and praise, a means to find some peace, this book is for you.
    Also recommended: The Joys of Being a Woman


  22. (5 STARS)
    Poetry on Point
    11/30/2004
    LaKeisha Walker, a lover of good books

    I found Seeking Solace to be very enlightening. These young authors are on to something. Their love for God seeps through every page, and makes you want to read more.


  23. (5 STARS)
    Taking a look at reality
    12/01/2003
    Ruth A. Smith, a university student & radio host

    In a society that is bombarded with violent, sexual and outright perverse imagery, projected through the powerful mediums such as television, radio, internet and literature, the slogan 'do what feels good as long as it doesn't directly hurt someone,' seems to be the norm. Today we see this same society on wearisome missions such as 'the cure for A.I.D.S', ' eliminating poverty', 'how to nail a mate' and the list goes on. The sad thing is that these missions do not address the root of the problems at hand: sin. Rather than our youth being mentored and told that if you sleep around there are physical, emotional and spiritual consequences, they are given pieces of rubber gloves and misinformation that condoms can 'protect' them and their partner(s). 'Seeking Solace' is definitely going to offer a fresh and challenging voice that truly keeps things 'real' in a world that supports fakes rapping, singing and/or writing about 'keepin' it real' -but are only out to make a dollar and are not true to themselves, their fans or the art. The authors, Farrell and Holmes, are definitely on to something. Most importantly, the Lord God is their source, meaning that He is embedded in this beautiful gift that offers hope, encouragement and truth for those 'Seeking Solace.'


  24. (5 STARS)
    Breath taking and spiritually rewarding
    12/21/2004
    Shentella , a Nursing Student

    I really enjoyed Seeking Solace because I could relate to just about every poem there. My favorite poem is 'It shall all come to pass'. This came to me at a time when life's struggle seemed very questionable. I made a career move to leave my full time job to goto school full time for a Nursing Degree. I knew the time would come when I had to make this decision and although I thought tI was prepared to do just that the seed of doubt started to settle in. I knew in my heart that if it were not meant to be, the change, God would not allow me to make it to this point. I started to think about all of the money that I would lose and all sorts of things just kind of ran through my mind. I was afraid and just as the fear started settling in I started to pray just a little bit more. I had a dream of an aunt who had died about a year ago and in this dream she told me that 'Without God nothing is possible but with God all things are possible'. I knew after the dream that I would be okay but I knew God must come first. Even though I knew this that devil was planting more seeds. For the first two semesters it seemed like I was barely hanging on in class and I started to feel as though I wouldn't make it. Then I went to the mall to buy my kids clothes for school and there was Eric Farrell. I had never heard of his poems nor knew of his work and he mentioned the book to me. I immediately went inside of the book store and purchased the book and he signed the book for me. As I begin to walk away I wished him luck and he looked up at me with a big smile and said' I don't need luck I have God'. For a minute I was startled because no one had ever said that before but the words took hold. I know that God places people in our lives for a reason and my reason for meeting him was to let me know that God had everything under control. Eric was my confirmation that God is good, even though I knew, he confirmed it for me.
    Also recommended: I also enjoyed [poems:] Fear Less, Mr. Suicide Bomber,Lord Why?, and Not Like a Prayer. This has been an enjoyable experience.


  25. 3/20/2010
    "I have used the book Seeking Solace in many times of confusion in my life. Right now my family is going through a very hard time and it has been so uplifting. It always reminds me that God can see the bigger picture and I need to continually trust that His ways are better than my own. Thank you!"

    Tamar Mitchell
    (Fredericksburg, VA)



  26. "Outstanding work, Eric I met you at the Post Office last week (June 09). The short conversation we had was nice, I purchased your book Seeking Solace. It is remarkable and uplifting."

    Manny
    (Woodbridge, VA)


  27. 6/19/2008
    "Eric you are a God gift to everyone I meet you at a book signing at potomac mills and I was going through somethings that I thought no one understood but after reading your book that's when I realized that someone really did understand and it help me alot to over come suide toughts feeling like everything was my fault and that's when I realized that God puts us in situation to see how strong our faith really is and then I started writting down my feelings on paper I didn't think it was good but other's did so I just want to say Thank You for your gift of reaching out to others in your words and with your fingers.
    May God continue to bless you
    Frankie"

    Frankie Moyd
    (Woodbridge, VA)


  28. 3/18/2007
    "I bought Seeking Solace, and It really helped me in a time I needed it. It helped me to realize things about my life I needed to change. It also inspired me to keep writing my poems.... Thank you for your amazing words. I thank God for putting me in the right place at the right time for me to find your book. He is AMAZING. GOD BLESS YOU"

    Kelly Andrews
    (Sandston, VA)


  29. 3/14/2007
    "I just bought "seeking solace"... it's AMAZING! i love it and it is sooo inspirational.
    it's just amazing =)"

    Skye
    (USA)


  30. 11/29/2004
    "What an awesome gift you have! I was up into the wee hours of the morning reading your work. Not only am I greatly impressed, but I am also deeply motivated to employ my pen again."

    Janaye
    (Triangle, VA)


  31. (1 STAR)
    zero stars
    November 14, 2004
    unfortunately, there is a tendency to believe that just because something is about God it is actually good. This simply is not the case. the poetry is bad--I've heard better from highschoolers performing.

    The author, who I actually saw live, is an egomaniac using God to benefit his own ego. Only too ready to talk about his suffering and inability to make it big, the greatest moment of irony was when he whined about being an outcast and didn't even mention a certain outcast who was crucified for walking with the most hated and downtrodden of Jerusalem's population.

    S. Patel
    (Washington, DC)

    (2 comments)


    1. 2007
      Not sure where this individual saw the author or even sure of which author/poet being referred to(there were 2 authors of this book). While I respect the opinion of the review "zero stars", I certainly don't agree with it. Eric Farrell is a man whom I happen to know personally--not because I went to school with him or grew up with him, but because he took the time to approach a stranger in the mall years ago.

      I understand if you don't like the book;that's one man's entitled opinion, but to attack the character of someone without ever getting to know them beyond a viewing is a bit premature and ineffective as indicated by the lack of user helpfulness of the review.

      I have purchased both of his books and have seen Eric Farrell many times live...all thumbs up! He is quite creative, passionate, and humble. This book is good not only because it involves Christ, but also because the poet is gifted in such an area. He (Eric Farrell) is a full-time author/poet by choice--not because he can't do anything else, but because its his call and passion that he might richly bless others. I encourage anyone interested in poetry or seeking solace to purchase this book.

      Jess A. Servant
      (Woodbridge, VA)


    2. August 17, 2016
      While I respect others right to voice their opinion, and believe it is perfectly fine for someone to genuinely dislike something. S. Patel's comment does not appear to be truthful and should be discredited for the following reasons:

      1) S. Patel claims to have seen the author live, and that he/she heard better from highschoolers performing. If he/she really thought that the author's poetry performance was so bad, then he/she would not have bought the book. So Patel contradicts her/himself.

      2) Patel's review is for the hardcover version of the book. Unlike most books, the hardcover and paperback versions were both released at the same time, the content of both hardcover and paperback are identical, and the hardcovers sold 3 to 4 times faster than the paperback, which means paperbacks were always available for purchase wherever there were hardcovers. This means that S. Patel willingly chose to spend the extra money to buy the hardcover instead of the paperback. Buying the hardcover proves that S. Patel was actually impressed enough by the author's performance and character to spend some extra money on him, contrary to what Patel claims in his/her review here.

      3) This book contains nothing about being an outcast, contrary to Patel's claim. There is a poem in Verbalizions of Enlightenment about being an outcast, but that's a completely different book, and that poem clearly celebrates being an outcast, so there is no whining there, contrary to Patel's claim.

      4) When Patel says the author "didn't even mention a certain outcast who was crucified" then Patel is, in effect, claiming to have read the whole book. Or else, Patel couldn't say what the author never mentioned the crucified one in the book. If Patel really thought the book was so bad that it was "zero stars," he/she is not likely to have read through the whole book. Most people don't finish books they actually do like. Patel is claiming to have finished a book he/she absolutely hated. It sounds like book must have been quite the page turner for Patel to finish it. Patel's claims do not add up at all.

      5) S. Patel's other reviews are all about dungeons and dragons and magic/witchcraft type of books, not this type of book. That's the type of book and view on life S. Patel clearly prefers. This book is an anomaly in his/her reading behavior, not a book of poetry where the authors hold a favorable view of God.

      6) As Jess A. Servant points out in his/her comment, Patel neglects to say which author he/she is even referring to, since this book is equally written by two authors. It's likely that Patel met Farrell, because Holmes rarely did events, especially not a year after the books release, when this review was posted.

      7) While reviewing a different book than this one, Patel reveals that he/she grew up Hindu. The problem here is that the authors of Seeking Solace speak from a Christian perspective, and Seeking Solace contains bible scriptures, which is far different from Hindu. So while Seeking Solace does not say anything at all about Hinduism, Patel may have tried to rip this book and author to shreds simply because it is Christian based, which doesn't mix well with Hindu concepts. I say that because in that other review, Patel says about that book "I cannot understand why anyone would give this book a single star. Having grown up Hindu, I can say that Calasso has given me a retelling of stories from my childhood..." Patel titled that five star review "Incredible for all interested in Hinduism" for a book called "Ka: Stories of the Mind and Gods of India." Patel's own words in that review prove that his/her rating is biased by his/her Hindu belief.

      So why did Patel buy this book and read it, if she hated it and the author so much?

      Given the observations above, my personal conclusion is that S. Patel was actually impressed by the author and his work in person, not seeing him as an egomaniac as he/she claims, but upon reading the book, he/she came across Christian viewpoints that he/she (being Hindu) disagreed with, and therefore sought to try to punish or hurt the authors and book by writing a "zero star" review and falsely attacking the author's character.

      I believe Patel bought the hardcover book, but I don't believe Patel actually read through the book. Here's why. Patel says the author "didn't even mention a certain outcast who was crucified" while speaking of being an outcast. Patel probably heard a poem performed on stage that's not in Seeking Solace, but the poem doesn't mention "Jesus Christ/Bible," so Patel probably loved the poem and performance enough to buy the hardcover book, but was later disappointed to find that the author was a Christian, and upset that the author didn't happen to reveal that in the poem he/she heard.

      If Patel had read through the book, he/she would have found out that "outcast" poem is not even in the book, but Patel seems not to know that. Patel also doesn't seem to have read enough of the book to even know there were two authors.

      I don't believe S. Patel's comment is to be trusted. It appears to be an attack against the author for being Christian, yet Patel won't admit that being the reason, because that would show Patel to be hateful and abusive against Christians. Since Patel claims other reasons, which don't add up, his/her review appears completely dishonest, not credible. It is also a clear anomaly among Seeking Solace's other reviews.

      Yours Truly

      ノric L Farrell, Author & Poet
      (Woodbridge, VA)


  32. 9/21/2004
    "I just finished reading Seeking Solace and this book was very uplifting that I brought an copy and sent to a good friend."

    Victoria H. Wise
    (Hyattsville, MD)




view book cover and description